Sanford And Son (season 3) Dvd Review


Set in the Watts district of Los Angeles, Sanford And Son centers around the life of Fred Sanford (Redd Foxx), a 65-year-old African-American antiques dealer. Fred lives with, and shares the business with, his 34-year-old son Lamont (Demond Wilson). One of the first TV sitcoms to completely revolve around African-American characters, Sanford And Son showcased the comic genius of Redd Foxx with every episode. Fred Sanford’s trademark fake heart attacks and sarcastic jabs made for some of the funniest TV viewing of its era. With a host of eccentric characters and nagging relatives always hanging, there’s never a dull moment…

The Sanford And Son (Season 3) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere “Lamont as Othello” in which Fred walks in on Lamont and his drama teacher acting out a choking scene from Shakespeare’s Othello. Fred wrongly believes that Lamont is trying to kill a white woman, but the tables are turned when Fred and Lamont visit the teacher’s house and her parents wrongly assume the Sanfords are trying to rob the place? Other notable episodes from Season 3 include “Lamont is That You?” in which Lamont and Rollo accidentally walk into a gay bar (but not until they’re seen by Fred’s friend Bubba, leading Fred to believe Lamont is gay), and “Fred’s Cheating Heart” in which one of Fred’s typical fake heart attacks lands him the hospital for observation?

Below is a list of episodes included on the Sanford & Son (Season 3) DVD:

Episode 39 (Lamont as Othello) Air Date: 09-14-1973
Episode 40 (Libra Rising All Over Lamont) Air Date: 09-21-1973
Episode 41 (Fred, the Reluctant Fingerman) Air Date: 09-28-1973
Episode 42 (Presenting the Three Degrees) Air Date: 10-05-1973
Episode 43 (This Little TV Went to Market) Air Date: 10-12-1973
Episode 44 (Lamont is That You?) Air Date: 10-19-1973
Episode 45 (Fuentes, Fuentes, Sanford & Chico) Air Date: 10-26-1973
Episode 46 (Superflyer) Air Date: 11-02-1973
Episode 47 (The Members of the Wedding) Air Date: 11-09-1973
Episode 48 (The Blind Mellow Jelly Collection) Air Date: 11-16-1973
Episode 49 (A House is Not a Poolroom) Air Date: 11-23-1973
Episode 50 (Grady, the Star Boarder) Air Date: 11-30-1973
Episode 51 (Wine, Women and Aunt Esther) Air Date: 12-14-1973
Episode 52 (Mama’s Baby, Papa’s Maybe) Air Date: 01-04-1974
Episode 53 (Fred Sanford, Legal Eagle) Air Date: 01-11-1974
Episode 54 (This Land is Whose Land?) Air Date: 01-18-1974
Episode 55 (Fred’s Cheating Heart) Air Date: 02-01-1974
Episode 56 (The Party Crasher) Air Date: 02-08-1974
Episode 57 (Lamont Goes Karate) Air Date: 02-15-1974
Episode 58 (Will the Real Fred Sanford Please Do Something?) Air Date: 02-22-1974
Episode 59 (Tyranny, Thy Name is Grady) Air Date: 03-01-1974
Episode 60 (Aunt Esther and Uncle Woodrow Pffttt?) Air Date: 03-08-1974
Episode 61 (The Way to Lamont’s Heart) Air Date: 03-15-1974
Episode 62 (Hello, Cousin Emma? Goodbye, Cousin Emma) Air Date: 03-29-1974

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *